Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Dust and fires

The sky has been hazy all day and I have felt like I was living in the sandpit until I went outside at lunch and was nearly blown away with the winds.   The dust storm came from the west blown in by high winds.   As anticipated fires have started There is one near Saltbush which has already been savaged by fire earlier this year and a second one out near Weston which while now out of control has been downgraded as far as threatening properties and so on.  The smoke here you can see is from the fire near Saltbush.  It was still in emergency situation at the time I took this shot and they have been waterbombing it this afternoon.   The smell of smoke in the air is overpowering.   The winds have dropped a bit but it is so dry at 10% relative humidity I expect everything that didn't burn in the last fire will go up now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.