Leaving your mark in the world...

Dear Diary,

I saw this strange mark in the snow outside the post office in my little village.  It was the strangest thing I thought.  Everything around it was swept clean, just this remained.  I can't think what could have made the mark but It just had to be photographed.

We are all told growing up that we should try to leave our mark on the world, one way or the other.  One teacher I knew had her students write their own obituaries to elicit what they thought that mark might be.  An interesting exercise.  We all start out very ambitious but as time passes we come to understand that "making our mark" may be as simple as saying something kind to the stressed out lady at the grocery store check out or feeding the birds and squirrels on a cold morning.  (It's 0 degrees out there today!)  

So, go ahead and make your mark on your little world today and if you celebrate Thanksgiving Day have a wonderful one.  I am very thankful for this wonderful community we all share and that I feel well enough to make dinner with my friends.  It's going to be a great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.