Silly Saturday: A Spider(?) on my Monitor?!

Who would want a spider on their monitor? No arachnophobe would, for a start. So it sounds a bit silly.

However this is actually a "Spyder" so it's not actually an arachnid. It's a colorimeter* which our camera club has recently bought for loan to members, and as President (for my sins) I got first go with it (as long as I promised subsequently to do a little presentation to club members about how to use it).

So this is the Spyder in action on my desktop monitor. In case you're not familiar with the purpose (experts don't need to bother to read any further) the idea is to set one's monitor to show colours as accurately as possible according to an accepted standard - I'm hoping it will be a first step towards getting prints to look something like the photo on the monitor, although I know there's a lot more to it than just monitor calibration.

Although it's not an expensive monitor, and it's quite old, I was pleased to find that after calibration it showed 100% of the sRGB colour gamut, although only about 78% of the AdobeRGB gamut. The latter may give me an excuse to treat myself to a new one soonish...after all, one of our sons really needs a "new" monitor so he could have my old one...any excuse, eh?!

I hope that putting a spider Spyder on one's monitor is silly enough to qualify for admirer's Silly Saturday challenge.

(*Note: Other makes of colorimeter and of monitor are available.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.