Knitting and Stitching Show

Today I went up to Harrogate to the Knitting and Stitching Show. I had been lucky enough to win a day ticket, and today was the only day I could make. But I'm so glad I went. I will have to go back, and take my Mum (who couldn't come today as she isn't well enough to leave the house at the moment). There were demonstrations, as Alison here showing how she screen prints her fabrics which she then turns into dresses. The fabrics are amazing. Then there were exhibitions of design, and I have included one extra, a picture made from threads, of a lady with dementia - I thought the imagery used was very poignant. 

Of course there were plenty of stalls. As someone who enjoys knitting, although I don't often get much of a chance these days, it was fabulous to see some of the names I am familiar with, and so many newer names. I managed to buy a new bag at a great prices (clearing stock on the last day) and a new hat! 

I was chatting to the staff at the convention centre. Apparently the show they all really look forward to is the Country Living Show next week. 

Weather wise it has rained solidly all day. But the ground really does need it. I'm hoping this week will have gone some way to restoring the levels in our reservoirs. 

I phoned my Mum on the way home. She has been ill all week, with Dad looking after her, and me telephoning every day, but is now well enough for Dad to go out to a lunch today while she stayed at home herself.  I had bought myself a pattern and some wool for a stunning jumper, but I know I'll struggle to get the time to make it. Mum was delighted - and has jumped at the chance to knit it for me. I know she loves making jumpers, but doesn't get to make as many these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.