Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Acre Mill

This building, originally built around 1905, used to be a steel wire mill. Much of the original mill building has been demolished, it was said to be one of the biggest mills in the world - but that is because it went three quarters around 'The Globe' - a local pub, now next door and now called 'The Wire Works'. The building was renovated in 2013, and is lovely inside.  Its a fascinating building to photograph. This was taken today was I was coming back from a meeting.

My day started late, having been stuck on the M62 for 40 minutes waiting for an accident involving 2 lorries and 2 cars to be cleared from the 2 lanes it was straddling, between junctions 26 and 25. Then its been a bit of a reactive day, sorting out a couple of issues. 

After work I called in to see Mum, to take her the wool and pattern I'd bought at the Knitting and Stitching Show. She was quite delighted. She is feeling very bored, although she has accepted she is unlikely to be leaving the house for at least another week. She has viral labrynthitis, so at the moment can't move her head forward or back without feeling very nauseous an dizzy. And my Mum really isn't very good at sitting. So I figured some knitting would at least make her feel she was being productive. I can see where I get it from...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.