To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Love is a Battlefield

Well, love may not be that bad, but my kitchen sure looked like a battlefield after making several batches of pink, sparkly cut-out cookies with a three-year-old. And this old Pat Benatar song was going through my head for some odd reason.

The other day middleoftheroad asked what our musical "shame" was and posted a picture of a Fame 45. I couldn't really think of anything at the time as most of my CDs are put away and I use an iPod. Well, today I remembered that question as we were baking and a song by Paris Hilton played. I'm cringing as I admit this. Yes, I have a Paris Hilton song on my iPod! Anyhow, as we were rolling and cutting the cookies, my daughter said, out of the blue, "Mama, I think the person who is singing this song is a doctor." Where do kids come up with this stuff? I can't for the life of me figure out what she may have heard in the lyrics to come to that conclusion. She wouldn't elaborate any further, and I didn't have the heart to tell her that the person singing that song is an aimless heiress who has enough money to play at being a pop star.

Now that I think of it, I do have a Pat Benatar's Greatest Hits CD, but I'm not ashamed. I am ashamed that, for now, I'm going to let my daughter believe that Paris Hilton is a doctor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.