Empty head

I made this alarming bust for my CSE (remember those?) Art course in 1970. It has resided in the boiler cupboard in our current house for 18 years. Before that it has seen the inside of many dark, dusty and cobwebby places.

It fulfils the Empty criteria for MonoMonday on at least two levels. The head contains no thoughts, feelings, hopes or ambitions. Neither does it contain any clay as we had to hollow out the skull to stop the thing exploding when fired.

The head is one of many pieces I have left over from those days. Unfortunately all my old paintings, drawings and sketches have long since disappeared. Perhaps I will have to blip some of the other pieces on slow blip days. By the way I got a CSE Grade 1 for Art which in those far of days counted as a O Level.

Other than that it’s been a quiet day. Weather depressingly dull and drizzly which meant that lots of “just jobs” could be cleared up.

Thanks to 60plus for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.