... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Façade HDR

Look in large: Waterhouse made it too ornate to be viewed (satisfactorily) in small...

I do like the fact that the "early evening" light is actually "mid-afternoon" light at this time of year...

I'd planned to blip a picture of the Minerals Gallery today, but then the light was so pretty when I re-entered the museum (via the main entrance; I'm going out of my way to do that now...) that I just had to give it a shot (or 5), and I'm quite pleased with the result.
It was very cold, but the light was surprisingly warm (presumably because the sun was going down, so it was starting to gain yellow hues) yet was still very crisp.
The "Old General Herbarium" (the ghost herbarium that I've blipped once or twice) is on the second floor of this western side of the museum (behind the smaller windows above the outwardly projecting gargoyles...), and the land beyond the end of the building is the fantastic Wildlife Garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.