... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Cygnet at Sunset

See the sunset in its eye in large ("L").
I went back to Mount Pond this evening because I arrived at Clapham South tube station at 3PM: the sun was going down behind the common-side houses, and the light was beautiful.
I had a wonderful but very chilly 30 minutes photographing the black-headed gulls and assorted waterfowl being fed by various passers-by, and really appreciated why it is called "golden hour".
I've really struggled to choose my blip (I got loads of satisfying photos because it was so photogenic a scene...), so have cheated and chosen three: this one is on my actual blip because it is the one that looks best enlarged, but the other two are not the ones I liked less...
Black-headed gull catching bread in flight
Tufted duck in "Golden Hour"

I went for lunch with a friend at Google's offices today; they really treat their staff well! The office environment is as eclectic and eccentric as I'd heard with different room in different styles, a lot of colour everywhere, stylish and quirky decorations, &c... We had a lavish lunch (they've three "canteens" each serving slightly different things, so staff have even more choice...) which was apparently not as exciting as some other days; staff seem to be encouraged to bring friends and family (improves well-being?). I even had dragon fruit! There was loads to choose from...
The best thing is that their coffee break "stations" have rather decent espresso machines so that staff can make themselves really proper coffee! Wowee - if only I was a computer whizz...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.