... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Sleepy Cygnet

I visited Mount Pond on Clapham Common his afternoon. It was a brief visit: the light was fading fast, and it was both unpleasantly cold and drizzling... "Wonderful".

I went to Mount Pond because a few days ago I noticed that a pair of cygnets had arrived. A few weeks ago the pair of swans from the large pond on Wandsworth Common made their way over to Mount Pond, so I was surprised to see them joined by unrelated cygnets; they are moving as a family (all four together) despite being unrelated.

When I visited this afternoon there were also lots of cormorants on the pond (7 at once was the highest I counted), but there was surprisingly little activity... All the birds seemed very snoozy, including the swans. Perhaps it was the cold and rain?
This one seemed to be half-heartedly preening itself, but would periodically just shut its eyes and rest for a bit, before having another little go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.