... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Over The Line!

More triumphant in large ("L").

I wasn't sure what to blip so I went for an amble in the garden... It's a pretty grey day, but I found this tiny caterpillar curled up in the centre of an aster, so that was that: snip, and back to my room to warm up the caterpillar.

It was pretty sluggish even in my warmer room: I got out my flash and LED torch and then photographed it for about 15 minutes. It explored my desk quite calmly (except when it reared up to look around, which I think was disquiet really). The bokeh in the background is my "poppy" lapel pin/badge which has a brassy back which caught the flash nicely.

I've put up three alternatives because I couldn't really choose:
Backlit caterpillar
The caterpillar and its aster
Chin scratching...?

It is now safely back in a sheltered flower bed, and I must finish my statistics (*sigh*).

p.s. Caterpillars are insect larvae, and insects have 6 legs (3 pairs); only the front three pairs are true legs (they emerge from the thoracic segments, and will be the legs of the adult), as the rear ones are "pseudopods" (emerging from abdominal segments) which are just fleshy appendages which help the caterpillar to move, but will no longer be present after metamorphosis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.