and through the wire...

By hesscat

It It Ain't Broke...

But it is bl***dy broke!

Poor Mrs C woke up to a cold house this morning, central heating hadn't kicked in. Aw. I then woke an hour or so later to a cold house... central heating still hadn't kicked in.. c'mon everybody.. aw... can't hear you?

Yeah, so although it must be 22 years old, our central heating system throws a wobbly every so often. Sometimes the boiler, sometimes something in this blip. For a good few years... and I mean a good few years...a valve at the top centre of the blip has dribbled, you can see the valve all green. The dribbles over the years have dropped on to the pump and the valve below the pump, and sometimes the motor below that valve, and does its nasty business. Several of these components have failed before and been replaced, and today it was the motor for the central heating. The one to the left of it for the hot water was ok.

The job to replace this whole section has been on the to-do list for sometime, but with it being a bigger job than usual, it has slipped priority. But my heating engineer pal came up tonight to get us going again and I think realises it needs done, when it is a bit warmer.

For now, the motor was replaced and to avoid drippy drip drips interfering again, I've put 2 plastic boxes over the motors and tied/gaffer taped them, plus restored the old green bath seal under the drip to take it away. When I was waiting for my pal to come out I was clearing out the space around all this and saw these old green baths seals and actually thought to myself, why do I keep these and threw them to the front of the garage for disposal. Then when discussing the drip and I remembered, I put them under the drip a good few years ago, and I mean, a good few... yeah. So, that'll teach me to even think about throwing anything out... lesson learnt!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.