Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

My little world

For much of my life, I have lived on views over the countryside and faraway mountains, but for the last twenty-two years, I have lived with no view at all. Well, of course, I have windows all along one side of my town apartment, but all I can see is another building. I suffered a great deal for many years until I learnt to re-focus my attention. First I see my pretty curtains (in the kitchen in this shot) and then I see my window boxes filled with colourful flowers. The building in front of my nose has receded because of where I put my attention. See the photo in extras with my focussed attention.

In the warmer months of the year, I bring my striped canvas blinds down low and block out the building in front of my living-room. I can also eat all my meals outside in private enjoying the flowers and visiting bees. 

When I do a close-up shot, all I can see is a heart and some flowers! You can see that my geranium plants are still giving lovely colour outside this morning.

"Whatever we put our attention on will grow stronger in our life"

There are many similar quotation given by wise people.

So, where we place our attention determines what we see.

What do I want to grow stronger in my life? What do I want to see?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.