NellieD

By NellieD

In for a penny

When I was in London a few years ago, I bought a few pieces of jewellery from 'Simon Says Fork Out' who was at Spitalfields Market. He turns old forks and spoons into beautiful jewellery under the ethos 'we are often too reliant on what is new, just because it is new, and discard what is old, just because it is old'.

I was thrilled to see he had come up to Manchester to have a stall at the Christmas markets and I now have about 7 pieces of his work - whoops! It's my birthday coming up so I decided my husband could treat me to this old penny jigsaw pendant and I also bought myself a rather beautiful, and expensive, fork necklace with my redundancy money. I thought I should treat myself to something with it! The first time I wore it, a lady walked up to me and asked 'where can I get one of those!'

My mum joined me at the foodbank today as it was Giving Tuesday. We didn't get a huge number of people calling in to see what we do, but my mum agreed it was a huge eye opener to see things first hand - and she only cried about 3 times! 

Quote for today:
There are no extra pieces in the universe. Everyone is here because he or she has a place to fill, and every piece must fit itself into the big jigsaw puzzle.
- Deepak Chopra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.