D77

By D77

Why Belief?

In my local bookstore the other day, I picked up a copy of Bill Brysons 'A Really Short History of Nearly Everything'. I only managed to get through about two-thirds of the original paperback and so this watered-down version helped me to better understand much of what he was trying to get across.

When I was paying for it, I spotted this little chap sitting all alone at the counter with no less than three 'reduced to clear' stickers on it. For the princely sum of 200 bz (36p), I couldn't resist and at the very least I thought it would provide an interesting counter-balance to the latest scientific understanding of how we all came to be.

I couldn't have been more wrong. How the former Bishop of Edinburgh got away with writing such drivel is beyond me. Other titles in the series include Why Pray?, Why Suffering? and Why God?.

Why indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.