D77

By D77

Keeping an eye out

When I worked for Standard Life in Edinburgh, it was not uncommon for people to have various little gadgets and gizmos on their desk to keep themselves amused during a typical working day. A particular favourite of mine at the time was a calculator that took fifteen seconds to flip open at an odd angle after pushing a button. Useless, but fun.

Out here in Oman, gadgets have made way for what I now term 'desk survival kit items'. They include:

Dettol Instant Hand Sanitiser
Omanis like to scratch their balls regularly. They also like to shake your hand regularly.

The lotion manages to kill only 99.99% of germs however it's the 0.01% of germs that can't be killed that worry me.

Spider-Man
He's been with me for a while and has seen many acts of sheer incompetence. He had his head ripped off and was kidnapped by a colleague back in Edinburgh at one stage, but he's still going strong.

Rubik's Cube
Ideal for for when blipfoto is running a bit slow.

Brufen 600
Top of the range pain-killers to help subdue the pain caused by a minority of my colleagues.

Ian Mills Edinburgh 2009 Calendar
An essential reminder of what a civilised city is like.


Larissa (Mrs David77, almost) got me a little animal (pictured above) thing yesterday with a note on it which read:

"David,
Please can I come to work with you and live on your desk where I can tell you every day how much Larissa loves you and scare all the grumblies you work with!"


It seems to be working so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.