Get Me Out Of Here

My day at work started on my hands and knees getting this photo whilst the Coffee Kiosk staff tiptoed around me. I found it quite unusual to be ignored rather than stared at. Perhaps they think someone on their hands and knees taking pictures of seemingly nothing constitutes a nutter who is best avoided. That they found the results highly amusing and now award me 15% off my bill suggests not however.

Today's meeting with The President was the usual waste of time. I needed to find out how contract negotiations were progressing with a teacher I interviewed two weeks ago. I was informed that the owner of the university found her so attractive, that he would like her to work for the university in the Marketing Department rather than have her teach English as per her qualifications and basic life choice. My jaw dropped slightly when I heard this, and I told him that if he wants that to happen, he is going to have to fight me for her. That didn't go down too well, as you can imagine.

Despite requesting it at least once a week since I started back in October, there has been absolutely no progress regarding air conditioners for our staff and classrooms. The President dutifully promised yet again that they would be fitted "This week, next week, no problem Inshallah". I have a bowl full of salt from which I am taking regular pinches whenever he speaks.

Whilst he was in a good responsive mood, I asked him for a pay rise to reflect my semi-official role as director of studies. He refused. I responded by quipping that I had offers left right and centre from rival universities that I would have to start pursuing.

"You are not going anywhere, David" he said, with a slightly worrying lack of humour in his voice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.