People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Here it is!!!

This shelving unit makes my heart sing! IKEA hack, using their second-cheapest shelving system (Ivar), plus custom-made drawers and "built-in-looking" frame. Love it, love it, love it!!! Here is previous phase.

In process of working on this house I have finally been able to name a specific design style which is most dear to my heart: Mid-Century Modern. I am always hesitant to express any style preferences around my students, because the need to kiss-up can be too much to resist for some. So, if I say I like Post-Modernism, I may end up with a class full of Po-Mo looking projects. Early Modernism has been too dry for me in terms of both ideology and execution. Mexican Modernism lost a lot of its austerity with use of insane colors (nothing colored fushia and lime can be too scary, even if it is a concrete and glass cube), but their materials are simply not widely used in the US. American Mid-Century Modern however is quite all right in my book - still simple and clean lines, but many designers ventured into color a bit :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.