Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Perry's Agave

Agave parryi, known as Parry's agave or mescal agave, is a flowering plant in the family Asparagaceae. It is a slow-growing succulent perennial native to Arizona, New Mexico, and northern Mexico. "Mescal is most well-known for its sap, particularly the syrup and alcoholic beverage that is distilled from it. The liquid, known as aguamiel (honey water) is fermented to make an alcoholic beverage called pulque. The pulque is distilled to create mescal (or mezcal, as it is known in Mexico) or even further distilled to make tequila."  Read more..

These plants, in various sizes, are all over southern Arizona.  This small specimen was in my neighborhood.  I chose to post it because I loved the late afternoon light.

Kay (caregiver) helped us put up our Christmas tree this evening.  We got sidetracked and only got as far as getting it on the table and the lights and candy canes hanging.  I've had those candy canes since 1983 so they're either super brittle or petrified by now.  All of the ornaments and decorations are out but will have to wait until morning.

I've also decided to extend the caregiver hours.  I've added one hour to each shift (5 days a week) to make them four hours from the current three.  I'm hoping it will free me up more, even if I spend all four hours holed up in my room. Today was the last of the weather in the 70°s.  I thought maybe we'd make it through the entire month without a drop of rain, but alas, there's some in the forecast tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.