Whodunnit?

For some unknown reason, some swine took it upon themselves to lower this road sign. As it bridges the cycle/footpath, tallish persons (i.e moi, et autres) are now advised to duck their heads when passing underneath. That is, advised by me, and not the darned inconsiderate perpetrator(s). Whoever did it, sneakily did it in stages, probably hoping no-one would notice.

Overall, it was a lowered about a foot (300mm), sometime in the Summer... peak time for visitors to somewhere like the, er, Dolphin Centre. Prior to that, it was partly concealed by a couple of tree branches. But before we (...okay, I), apportion blame, other evidence is that the post nearest the road was possibly backed into by some vehicle in the Spring, when roadworks were going on nearby. That post causes the sign to move slightly on windy days. Not enough for the sign to drop down on its own accord. It's tightly secured. I checked. Lowering the sign would reduce rocking motion, and the leverage forces applied to the foundations.

Anyway, I mutter curses every time I pass under it, and then consider putting it back higher. Thoughts of corrective action are quelled by the likelihood of Sod's Law dictating that I'd get in to trouble, rather than the culprit. I also worry that some dark night I'll forget to duck the head, and...

One other reason to wear a cycle helmet.



Nikon F100 : f/5.6 : 1/100" : 135mm : ISO400

Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR
Film: Ilford Delta 400 (B&W negative)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.