WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Well.

It looks as if I've found my new favourite sourdough method. R's method is more time-consuming than mine, and it ended up stretching over four days due to not having time to bake it yesterday, but I'm really pleased with the result. A large and impressive loaf with a crisp crust and lovely chewy texture. The only snag might be sourcing the flour; I used some strong flour I bought in Spain, but you can't buy it in France. Will need to stock up!

Sadly the panettone did not receive the same plaudits. At least it was cooked through this time, but it wasn't light and airy as it should be. Its destiny is to become the most labour-intensive bread and butter pudding of all time. That's it with panettone attempts till next year -- next stop Lidl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.