Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

'Now I remember why I left this place ....'

In Hawick this morning. I thought the annual cashmere sale at Johnson's mill would be on, but it was closed.  No sign of life except a lot of parking cones outside, which makes me think the sale was probably yesterday. In which case I'll have missed some bargains, or saved a lot of money, depending on how you look at it.

It was another grey and miserably wet day. I grabbed a quick shot of the statue of James Wilson which appeared in the town recently.  I know what you are thinking, and so were most folks round here.  Apparently he was, amongst other things, the founder of The Economist magazine, and this used to stand in their premises.  When they decided to dispense with it, they offered it to his home town and the council in their wisdom have erected it near the old bridge at the bottom of the High Street.  I'm sure it was never meant to be outdoors in this climate.  And he's already lost a few fingers and a thumb to passing vandals. He doesn't look too happy to be home.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.