Sage Advice

I've been lucky to receive gifts of several salvias from a gardening friend.  Some as cuttings for me to root, others, as this one, ready rooted.  This is Salvia x jamensis 'Nachtvlinder', a hybrid between S. greggii and S, microphylla.  I just love the dark colour.  Some of the popular sages are less hardy than the common garden herb sage.  To give mine the best chance of getting through the winter I will not cut them back during the winter tidy-up.   They will need to be cut back hard to encourage tidy new growth in the spring but leaving the old growth on over the winter will protect the lower branches from where the best new growth will come.

After a rather complicated end to the day yesterday, we had a quiet one today.  Belatedly celebrating Jacinta's birthday, I prepared Coq Au Vin for tea which went down well.  Now for a slice of the cake that Jamie made :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.