Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Shakers

FA Cup weekends mean there are more fixtures than usual on a Sunday, so I took the opportunity to make another small step on my slow journey around the 92 league grounds with my first visit to two time cup winners Bury's Gigg Lane.

League Two Bury were hosting League One Luton, with both sitting fourth in their respective divisions. The Shakers started well and had a glorious chance to take the lead, but Luton grew into it and got the game's only goal just before half-time. Bury had plenty of possesion in the second half but just couldn't find a way past the Luton defence.

I didn't have much chance to explore the town in the rain but I did pop into the Transport Museum where I seemed to be the only person without one or more small children to guide around a Christmas treasure hunt. There did seem to be enough about for a revisit on a finer day.

And for the curious, Neville Neville was the father of footballers Gary and Philip and netballer Tracey. As a Director of Bury FC he played an important part in keeping the club going during some difficult financial times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.