The Huntsman

This is Bowerman's Nose on Hayne Down. The legend says he's a huntsman turned to stone by witches who he disturbed. His pack of hunting dogs are a short way away turned to stone at Hound Tor.

I like to come here every so often but it's a bit of a boggy part of the moor, it's approached by a narrow lane, gated at both ends and the area is grazed by cattle which make the paths messy. Once up among the rocks there are a great many viewpoints available if you want to keep the monolith above the horizon.

The light today was a little strange, there seemed to be more yellow in the sky but it's not noticeable in the image. I took a 10-shot multi-exposure and then had the bright idea of taking two more the same. One overexposed by one stop and one underexposed by one stop. I've processed them in Lightroom to make a long exposure HDR shot. Why the complication? Just because I can, I suppose and I fancied trying it. I quite like the effect on the sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.