Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

OAK LEAVES HANGING ON

A brisk afternoon walk in the glorious sunshine made up for having to dash into town to sort out a shopping mishap.  I said I'd go on the train, but the Prof wanted to drive me.  Traffic jams and a curious grating noise on the ramps in the multi-storey made for a stressful journey.  I don't like multi-storey car parks at the best of times.  I'm the sort that ducks when you go under the height warning. 

The Prof took the car directly to our local garage.  These guys are wonderful.  'Och!', they said, "It's just a silly wee tray thingy  that's fallen off  - we'll pop it up on the ramp and pop it back on for you. No, you don't need to leave it. We'll do it right now.'  And they charged us nothing. I don't blame them. See the Prof?  See birds? He can charm them out of the trees.

Now off to buy ingredients to bake my birthday cake for tomorrow.  No-one else in my household makes cakes, you see.  And anyway, I love baking.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.