Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

IN VINO VERITAS

The truth is you cannae hold a camera steady when you're pissed.  I am not completely teetotal, but you can count the number of glasses of wine I have in a year on one hand.  Today was my birthday, and the Prof and my son took me out for lunch.  One glass of rosé and I'm anybody's. I blame my sensitive metabolism.  I had barely sobered up enough to help the ten year old with his homework and then make birthday dinner for him and his Mum (extra).  The wee one kept hugging me and saying 'Happy Birthday, Granny!'  I think it was really so he could get an extra helping of cake. 

I ended the day in the best way possible,  doing a gratitude meditation with a pal and then sitting by the fire, listening to music with the Prof and making ridiculous seasonal pompoms.  I am soberly grateful for so many things, not least for  being on the threshold of my 69th year in good health and surrounded by love and laughter.  Cheers, fellow blippers!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.