Kumortuli

Today was the last day of our street photography workshop in Kolkata. 

We went initially to a fish market, which was very enjoyable. There was a huge variety of fish, all very fresh (in many cases still alive).  There was also a large associated vegetable market, plus a meat market (chickens and goats) - probably best avoided by the squeamish.

Afterwards we moved on to Kumortuli, the "potters quarter" of Calcutta.  This area is famous for the statues sculpted for religious ceremonies.  As this is not the season for these ceremonies, there was less activity than might be seen at other times, but the guy in my blip was very proud to show me this statue he had made.

Nearer the river I also discovered several knitting factories. So many things to photograph!

When I have time to sort and edit my images (which could take me many weeks) I will put up a Flickr album of some of my more successful photographs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.