A very bright sun...

...woke the day up today. The sky was aflame and blinding.

But I had done this tree earlier while the day was still dark outside.

I don't think I have any acrylic colours that would do the sky justice that I saw this morning. A lot of the acrylic colours I have been using so far in this gel plate printing have been some old acrylic modelling paint colours that I bought long ago. They are rather liquidy and I am getting used to them just as I am running out of them. There are no bright colours among them.

The other acrylic colours I bought just recently for the gel plate printing are rather what I would call pastel colours. They are cheapish craft paints. Nice enough colours but nothing to create something dramatic like what I saw this morning as a backdrop for trees.

I have a feeling I may have damaged my gel plate because those acrylic paints for models might have been made with some different ingredients than just artists acrylics. Even though I clean my gel plate, and it looks perfectly clean, the darker modelling acrylic paints still carry on printing dark ghost prints for ages and ages after when I don't want it to.

I am not grumbling. I have punished this 7x5 inch gel plate. It is used as a painterly printing plate.

I have no idea if I could use Brusho crystals on the gel plate, or even inks. I am sure I have other painting materials as well I could try. So, I'll be doing some more experimenting soon with the gel plate. But I am a bit busy next few days. Also I will finish off these acrylic model paints off first. So maybe next week will be some new ideas and paint materials with the gel plate.

In the meantime I will have a new gel plate on my Christmas list for me. The price had gone up a couple of pounds or so. So I have an alert for when the price drops!!!!!

Thanks for all your comments and love.

Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.