100 Today!!

Today my Aunt Eloise turned 100! This was my main reason for spending the weekend in Michigan. She is having a party tomorrow and I’m sure there will be many people there, so today I went to have lunch with her and my Uncle Dick. They live in a wonderful retirement community in Grand Rapids, not far from my cousins.

We ate a delicious meal there in the dining room (I’m tempted to move in!), and all the servers and other diners gathered around to sing Happy Birthday to Eloise. Apparently she’s not the oldest person who lives there - there are several over 100, and the oldest is 105!

The dog was a gift from my cousin and Eloise loved him! We visited for awhile in the apartment before I went back to my cousins. I was so glad I had that special time with them before the big party tomorrow.

In other news: it was another relaxing hygge kind of day in Michigan. I was awake early so I watched the men’s and women’s cross country ski races from Lillehammar in Norway. They were both super exciting with very unexpected finishes!

Yesterday we started watching the box set of Broadchurch - a British crime drama set in Dorset, not far from where I was camping last month. I’d never seen the series before and we’re all hooked! It’s on the US Netflix but sadly not available in the UK. We finished watching series 1 and started series 2 tonight until we couldn’t stay awake any longer. Well-written plot and terrific acting. Binge watching is becoming a tradition during my visits here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.