Durdle Door, Dorset

I am very happy that I decided to go camping this week. It’s so warm I was able to eat breakfast outside! It feels more like September than November!

I decided to drive the short distance to the coast here in Dorset. I started in Lulworth Cove. I went to the visitors centre and then walked to the cliff above the cove, and then walked down to the beach, stopping at the Boat Shed Cafe for a coffee and a Bakewell slice for ‘elevenses’. What a view!

Then I braved it and walked to Durdle Door. It was only a mile but the first half was steep, steep, steep!! Thankfully it didn’t kill me, and I walked a little further after it levelled out, and was rewarded by the most amazing view of Durdle Door as well as the chalk cliffs further west.

I did A-level Geography in school and coastal studies were some of my favourite. This area - the Jurassic Coast of Dorset - was one of the main areas of study, but other than Chesil Beach, which I visited over 20 years ago, this is the first I’ve visited this area. Shameful, really - after being back in England for over 26 years, and this only a couple of hours from home. Well, I think I’ve found a new favourite holiday destination! It’s particularly nice being here when there aren’t too many people around. Judging from the size of the car park in Lulworth Cove, this place is heaving in the high season!

Once I got to Durdle Door, I walked down the steps to the beach, had a mini-picnic, took way too many pictures, and slowly returned to the van in Lulworth. This was taken when I started the return walk - once I’d come back to the top of the steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.