Bokeh Bouquet (FF07-2018)

More experimenting with my Helios 44-2 swirly bokeh lens.

I realised there is a spacer behind the front element which is easy to get back into the lens body either the wrong way around, or not quite straight, and it's also possible to have the front element sitting not quite centred when reassembling too.  So a few more experiments using some wooden tulips for a subject, and a 'space blanket' as a background.   I'm still not convinced I have the focussing sorted out yet, but for comparison I'll put two others in the extras. One from the Helios with the FE the normal way around, and one from my Canon 50mm f1.8.  The background highlights are not so different, but the tulips are focussed better with the Canon lens.  All done at f2,  might try f4 next :-)

Just to make life more interesting, I tried tethering the camera to my laptop, no real difference when focussing, but it makes it much easier to see the results quickly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.