A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Valentine Schmalentine

I'm the Valentine Scrooge. I didn't plan to be; I didn't even know that I was, but I am. Mr. Mellow and I (maybe I should call him Mr. Debsthoughts, but that would be wierd) haven't celebrated Valentine's Day for many years now. We thought it would be best left for those young lovers, those who've just fallen in love or those who recently married. I mean really??? Candy? Roses? Who needs them, right? But this blip-world has caused me to rethink the whole LOVE holiday. Actually my good friend Carol and my niece Kelly (fellow blippers) have mentioned the lovely flowers, etc. that they received from their respective loves; and this seems to have caused me to rethink my own scrooge-like situation. I'm not exactly feeling sorry for myself because Mr. M and I have clearly stated V Day expectations.

I decided to back up and enjoy this moment, this Valentine's Day, by looking at, and appreciating, the wonderful person I have in my life - 35 Valentine Day's worth of ups, downs, laughs, tears, motorcycle rides, gardening extravaganzas, children, grandchildren, friends, snores, moving vans, Andy Griffith reruns, and more fun than most people dream of.

Here he is folks, building me a custom soap mold on Valentine's Day 2009, when he is suffering from a cold, in the frigid garage. What more could a woman want?

PS: The sign behind him used to be attached to the tailgate of my dad's pickup truck when I was growing up in the 50s-60s. One of my favorite things. (The Genuine Lath & Plaster sign, not the Strong Ales sign!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.