A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Freshly Made Batch of Confidence

Soap making brings me much pleasure and since Mr. Mellow has been out in the garage making me two new soap molds I thought I'd blip this today. This is approximately 24 pounds of soap scented with bergamot/rosemary. The green color comes from the addition of parsley powder. My soap is pure and I will never use artificial fragrances or dyes because I like the fact that it is pure. I use the old fashioned cold process method of soap making and it's quite an ordeal. But that's exactly what I love most about it. The chemical process that occurs (saponification) at just the precise moment that it should. Then it is poured into these molds and the following day it is removed and hand cut into 40 bars, then it must 'cure' for two to three weeks before it becomes the most mild, luxurious, moisterizing soap on the planet. Ok, I exaggerate, but it's one of the few things I do that I have full confidence in.

My new custom made soap molds are ready to use now and they will make my job even easier since I currently use these two molds when making my 24 pound batches. Now I have two that are twice as big as what you see here, allowing me to make more than one batch per day. Well, theoretically I could now make three batches per day, but I'm not sure I need that much pleasure every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.