Stuff

OK, Saturday was unusual.

To start with, the Office was invited to participate in pre-match hospitality at the local rugby club’s home game. I enjoyed it more than I expected. I also stayed awake during the game.

“Our” team lost narrowly, but it was entertaining. I restricted myself to a gin and tonic plus 2 glasses of wine… oh, and a 3 course lunch.

Then it was the Office year-end social in the evening. More food. Much more alcohol. 

Highlight has to be the Syrian traveling from London to join us for a reunion. As is usual, at one point the conversation turned to what each of us is doing during the holidays at the end of the month. “Just the usual” says she… “the Lebanon and then Egypt to see the family”.

OK. 

Not knowing if she is religious, never mind which one if she is, I asked what Christmas in Lebanon involves. She assures me they rip off their hijabs and get blazing drunk. I hate to think what the men do. 

The Blip is a heated discussion about how to pronounce Montepulciano. Hippy on the right. Syrian on the left. (No hijabs were harmed in the making of this Blip). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.