The Winding Frosty Path

Another bright and frosty morning. We headed for breakfast at Dobbies. I hesitate to write this but it is a bargain at £5.95 for two, long may it continue. We had a table at the window and looked out into the garden on the sun, frost and snow.

Later I was on the hunt for Christmas presents so I headed for the craft shops at Milton at Crathes. Hopefully the visit was successful, only others will be able to judge later in the month. The path here is covered in frost rather than snow as it passes one of the craft shops.

With my shopping done I went over to the Deeside Railway. This is a disused railway line on which a group of enthusiasts run a short train service for visitors. About six months ago they bought Oldmeldrum station in flat pack form. The last time I photographed it back in June it looked a bit of a disaster. I had a chat with one of the volunteers this morning to complement them on progress. The roof is up and most of the walls of the building are in place. He said they still have a lot of work to do, and they had under estimated what bad condition it was in when they bought it.. He suggested it would have been easier to build a new construction rather than try reconstruct an existing building.

Still it already gives the idea of what it will look like, and I think it will look pretty good when it is completed. I will have to post a photo on another occasion showing progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.