... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Cygnet leaving the water...

Sproiingggg
This one seems to have adopted Ancient Egyptian wing positioning; a recognised technique for "de-ponding", but rather out of vogue.

I was very close to the cygnets today (taking photos of them in the water), and after they "came ashore" I actually touched one which was exciting! I stroked its wing while it was preening its front and it didn't notice (or assumed I was a swan), but then hissed at me rather lazily when it noticed; it seemed unperturbed and calm, but certainly wanted me to give it a little more space. I (self-indulgently; I know) moved around it and stroked it again, and the second time it just squeaked a few times! Squeaked!? They're pretty much full size (although slender), and yet they still squeak?! Aww.
One of the adult swans then hissed at me, so I gave them the space I know I ought to have been giving them all along. It felt amazing even if it was naughty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.