... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

GOSH!

Larger in large...
"And now for something completely different..."?

This is GOSH! on Berwick Street, Soho; it is a graphic novel and comic shop. I first heard of "graphic novels" only a couple of years ago, and initially thought it sounded like something racy and not-for-me, but it turns out that they are simply illustrated novels, rather like epic comic books aimed (perhaps) at adults. To me, they seem like a crossover between familiar written literature and visual media (such as films) which makes them a rather fine device for story-telling. The shop also sells "reportage" books, which are like graphic non-fiction: journalism or opinion presented graphically like a non-fiction comic! GOSH! has hugely varied stock...
I only own one graphic novel (an experiment) which I very much enjoyed, but not enough to encourage me to dive into them more wholeheartedly. However, Berwick Street is also home to Flat White (sublime coffee) and I seem to find this shop irresistible when I'm in the area. It is like another world, and wonderfully colourful.

I had a brilliant day today: I went to the Bronze exhibition at the Royal Academy of Arts with a great friend, and then we chattered over coffee, tea, and more tea at Flat White, Yumchaa, and Ray's Jazz Cafe in Foyles (respectively)! The Bronze exhibition was fascinating, beautiful, and eye-opening; I very much enjoyed it. I did, however, find the organisation of the exhibition slightly baffling, and while expansive (featuring a massive variety of bronzes dating from before 1000BCE to modern pieces), the 10 rooms made it rather epic and tiring, but it was definitely too interesting to skip through. What a ridiculous criticism: it was too interesting and had too many fine pieces to explore...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.