... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Central Hall After Dark

More atmospheric in large.
How is this my first blip of the museum after dark?!

Every time I leave the museum in the evening (in winter), I find the atmosphere rather special: there is the warm glow of the uplighters, the deep shadows in the nooks and recesses in the architecture, the muted murmur of the visitors-with-stamina (the ones who last right up until the point when the stewards stop asking people to leave, and start shepherding people towards the exits, shutting the doors behind them as they clear areas...). It is so peaceful and gives you such a feeling of space... The voices seem so distant, and the acoustics accentuate the vastness of the building.

This is handheld, and even that was a stretch, so there was no hope for HDR; I'll definitely take my tripod in sometime soon and do this again properly.

p.s. I do find white balance quite unintuitive; it was very easy to correct for the colour cast caused by the warm artificial lighting, and while the colours seem true to memory (i.e. the colours of the individual components of the picture seemed right), the whole image looked totally off. Is that simply because the colour cast is such a key component of the actual atmosphere? I realise that I was very aware of the warmth of the light at the time, but I don't understand why it seemed so off when I experimented with removing it from the photo...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.