... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM Ice Skating

More sparkly in large!

I went ice skating with a friend this afternoon: we braved the cold, and visited the temporary rink in front of that Natural History Museum. It was wonderful! We attended the 4PM session which proved to be a real treat because the light changed dramatically through the course of our session, from light and sunset-ish at the start, to very dark and artificially lit by the end. The lighting was beautiful: the huge trees in front of the museum are all wrapped up in coils of lights, the NHM is normally quite well lit at night, and there were also colourful floodlights surrounding the rink. There was also a carousel to one side, which added to the dazzle of lights and colour.

Photography was rather challenging: there were rather a lot of moving hazards on the rink, not to mention the low light and my camera's issues with higher sensitivity settings... I basically shoved it on ISO400 (the highest I will go) and used it as a point and shoot whilst keeping my eyes on my surroundings!

I got some more fun shots of my friend and individuals on the rink, as well as crisper shots from earlier on when the light was better, but thought that this one best represented the feel of the occasion!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.