A pinker shade of yellow

LH drew my attention to our rather pretty, soft yellow, climbing rose ('Claire Austin') which has turned a beautiful pink in these extremely late buds. We've not really had much very chilly weather at all but I suppose the change in temperature is enough; I'm amazed at even having rosebuds at this time of year - what a treat! A previously 'dissected' budding flower shows she's still yellow at heart!

The weeds are also still growing. Our new big borders are getting a sheen of green that has been bugging me immensely this past week or so, and I decided that it was time to do some gentle hoeing. Hah! The rain has beaten the soil down so much that a fork was required. I'll see whether I've overdone it later I suppose, but sometimes you've just got to get a job sorted. And it was fantastic to be outside, a wren noisily exploring a bush, a pair of ravens wheeling and cawing and a buzzard's distinctive call accompanying the very occasional sheep bleat. Mild and hazy distant views.

LH has been playing with the carpet cleaner which took a bit of fixing before it worked properly. We've got the thing for a week so hopefully can get all the house done and also allow carpets to dry properly before moving furniture back onto them. And then I'll start thinking about Christmas decorations ...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.