lovelife209

By mindful_life

Wild Wednesday- birdhouse in the dark

My photo today is of a little bird house in the garden and my son’s drum teacher’s house. The garden is full of treasures and I look every time I’m there!

I started this morning with a run and it was noticeably chillier than it has been! But I don’t mind once I get going and I am listening to a book which is also my motivation as I don’t get very much time to read/listen!!

I have started doing a little yoga post run and some mindful meditation which has been wonderful to start me off well in the morning. Children being children are quite good at bickering and winding each other up and being in a centred calm place is working well for me!

When I arrived at work I had an email from a colleague on the “Well-being committee” saying she would be in the office and would welcome feedback/suggestions anyone had. I arranged to meet with her and had a brilliant conversation with her about my experience with mindfulness and gave her my suggestions of having an area for people to escape to for a few minutes when they need to, but also to educate people about it and why it’s so important. She asked me about that so I told her about the science behind it, explained why meditation is useful and not just ‘weird’ which can be the view people have that aren’t informed.

She was really impressed with my knowledge and is really keen to grow this area in our firm because it will have overall health benefits. She said it would be useful to have someone give a talk about it - I said I would ask my contacts but failing that, I would be happy to. She recognised my passion and commented that I’m in the wrong job! I said I would love to do more with psychology but that I’m getting too old to retrain- she huffed at that and said I am absolutely not and should do it!

It was quite amusing as I then commented that as a partner of the firm she probably shouldn’t be advising me to take an alternative career path but she was of course talking to me outside of the ‘business’.

My inspirational quote today is:

“Do a job you love and you will never have to work a day in your life.” I have quoted this before but it seems appropriate to use it again.

My colleagues interest in what I had to say, and my delivery which was totally off the cuff, must have been good and it has sparked something in me today! And I am going to acknowledge that I did well too because I am usually very quick with self-criticism. My inner critic can be very strong-willed!

I hope you can be kind to yourself and praise yourself for all that you have achieved today xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.