Chomp Chomp Chomp

The Parrotfish have teeth that are fussed together and they chomp on the coral and move rocks around with their teeth; I can hear their chomping underwater. It sounds like grinding teeth. There are several Parrotfish that are the colors of this one, so I am not sure which one this is, but I think it is the Palenose Parrotfish. This fish is quite large....about 24 inches (61cm)

I had a very different experience Snorkeling today. It was not a day where I peacefully floated with the movement of the water; I decided I didn't get any exercise yesterday so I swam constantly from one side of the bay to the other....not quickly because I wanted to see the fish...but swimming against the current made for a good workout. While doing that I discovered an area by the breakwater wall that was calmer than the rest of the bay and the water was extra clear. It was a great place to take my photos. 

My hubby is done snorkeling long before I am done so he goes and sits on shore and always meets someone to talk to.....he always tells them that I wont come out until my camera battery is dead and that I will not want to sit in the sun at all....I just want to leave. So he asks me, "Did your battery die?" and when I say, "yes"..they all laugh and laugh again when I say, "I'm ready to leave now." I guess I am predicable?   

But just so you know I was not snorkeling all day, I have included flowers, Saffron Finch and Gecko today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.