DON'T YOU JUST LOVE IT.....

…..when celebrations carry on and on?  Mr. HCB’s cricket buddy, Keith, had told us, not long after we got back from our trip to Vietnam, Hong Kong and Singapore, that he would like to treat us to a meal for our Golden Wedding and today was the day.

We collected him just before noon and drove out to Robins Farm at Blunsdon (no apostrophe but I’m not sure why!) where we were shown to a lovely table in the window.  Keith had been there several times before so could recommend the Carvery, but before we decided, he took us over to show us the different meats and vegetables - at times like this, I have to say, I am glad I am not a vegetarian.  

There was a choice of plates, and we all chose large - and believe me, there was plenty of food.  Next time though, I won’t have the large Yorkshire Puddings, as I had to admit defeat after eating all my meat and vegetables - sorry Keith!

We had a lovely chat during and after our lunch and it was good to learn more about Keith’s early life and also his working life - he told us he had spent the whole of his working life with W H Smith.  Quite unusual, I think, in this day and age, when people change jobs quite frequently.  It was only as we were thinking of leaving that the two of them decided to chat about cricket, so I didn’t feel left out at all.

I was going to take part in the Abstract Thursday challenge, because the ice creams were such a wonderful colour, but thought it would be good to make a collage to show a photograph of Mr. HCB and Keith as they were about to demolish their large plates full of good food and also the colourful ice creams.  In the event, we were all so full, we didn’t even have a dessert - but perhaps next time!  So thank you, Keith, for your generosity - and for prolonging our Golden Wedding celebrations.

“People are so worried about
     what they eat between
          Christmas and New Year,
but they really should be worried about
     what they eat between
          New Year and Christmas.”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.