MEET CRAIG FROM MORRISONS

We went to do some shopping at Waitrose quite early this morning but they didn’t have all we wanted (shock, horror!) so we brought home what we did buy and Mr. HCB offered to put it away - so how could I refuse - then I went off to Morrisons.

It had been a gentle wander around Waitrose, but Morrisons was very different.  It was obvious that several men were “on a mission” and believe me, when that happens, if anyone gets in their way, they are lethal!  One man just shoved past me with his full trolley, almost knocking me over, so I just gently said that if he had asked me to move, I would have got out of his way - cue a “man stare” that said it all!

We like the small mince pies that Morrisons sell, and there were mountains of them being put out by Craig.  However, I had to point out that in one of the packs I had just picked up, there were only eight and not nine, so he apologised and said he should have noticed that.  We chatted for a while about how manic it was and how people buy food as if all the shops were closing for a week over Christmas, but they were only closed for two days.  He agreed, and then said that he loved to chat with the customers and to have a laugh with them.  What a credit to Morrisons and apologies for the signs sticking out of Craig's head!

I thought Craig might appreciate one of my hearts, so asked him to hold out his hand - whereupon he told me that he wasn’t allowed to accept anything!  I said it was just a little heart to bless him, so he took it and said, “That’s so kind - I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a good New Year.”  I wished him the compliments of the season and went on my way rejoicing.  

Isn’t it much nicer when people smile and are pleasant?  “Food-buying Fever” seems to grip people at this time of year - but we have learned that it is best just to buy what you need and not over-buy.  Why load our bins after Christmas with food that is past its sell-by date?

I now have three mincemeat cakes in the oven, one for my lovely neighbour Lynn, one for us and one to give away.  Mr. HCB kindly did all the washing up after I had mixed them, and we have just had a lovely afternoon with friends who called unexpectedly.  

"It was the beginning 
     of the greatest Christmas ever. 
Little food. 
     No presents. 
          But there was a snowman in their basement."
Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.