SILLY SATURDAY - OR IS IT?

I know I’m looking tatty and bedraggled
     but so would you
          if you’d been sitting
               on the top of someone’s 
                    Christmas tree
for over forty years!

I can’t understand why
     Mrs HCB doesn’t just buy 
          a new angel! 

Why would someone want me - 
     a tatty angel
          who has seen better days
instead of a beautiful, pristine one
     made of lace and beautifully crafted
          like the ones you can buy these days? 

Did I hear someone mention nostalgia
     and family traditions? 

I was made by Mrs.HCB’s older son at school
          when he was about 5 years old
               so perhaps that’s got something
                    to do with it.

Her son may not show it, 
     but I know he always looks
          at the top of the tree
               when he comes to visit and 
she’s obviously very sentimental 
     about Christmas
          so I guess I may be here 
               for another 
                    forty years and after all,
                         angels played an important part
                              in the first Christmas story!

© Maureen Iles : 15/12/18

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.