THIRD SUNDAY IN ADVENT - JOY, AWE AND WONDER

We had a good service at Church today and as the third Advent candle was lit we thought about joy, and how sometimes, as we get older, we lose that feeling of awe and wonder about the Christmas story, especially if we don’t have young children around, so we were encouraged to try and find it again this year.  It’s true, too, that we lose the feeling if we are dashing around and perhaps trying to do too much - and for many of us dealing with elderly relatives, it is all too easy especially if we don’t make time for ourselves.

As usual after Church, I went over to see Mum, who was sleeping, but I managed to rouse her enough to watch Songs of Praise and there were plenty of good carols for us to sing together.  My sister, Karen, was cooking lunch for 91 people today - bless her - and true to her word, her daughter and granddaughter brought a lovely lunch over for Mum.  There was far too much for Mum to eat, so I was very fortunate and had some too - there wasn’t enough for Mr. HCB, but I did bring him a doughnut!

After I had been over to see Mum and came back home, Mr. HCB was waiting at the door and asked if I would like to go out for a while to take some photographs.  We both said how much we have missed doing this, so we just got in the car and drove.  We didn’t want to go too far because the light was beginning to fade, so when I saw the trees on top of Liddington Hill, I decided they would be my Blip for today.  When he saw the photograph, Mr. HCB said it was a "tree sculpture" and I think he's right. 

Liddington Hill is a very special place to many people we know - it’s the view we see that reminds us if we have been out for the day that we are nearly home while others go there to scatter ashes to remember those they have loved and lost.  

While I was taking the photograph, we could hear a dog barking in a garden nearby;  when I went to speak to the dog, its owner was there so I reminded him that the last time I had taken photographs in this very spot, he had been cutting his garden hedge.  He said he remembered and had had a look at my photographs online, because I had given him one of my cards.  I remarked that in the summer time although the trees were distinctive, they looked even more beautiful now because we could see them in silhouette and he agreed with me.  

Under Door 15 of our Advent Calendar today, for the Just One Ocean charity, it says, “Today you have contributed towards vital research to help save our coral reefs from plastic pollution.”  We may not live near the sea, but it’s good to know we have helped in some small way today.

“The joy we feel has little to do
     with the circumstances of our lives
          and everything to do with
               the focus of our lives.”
Russel M. Nelson

P.S.  I must thank you all again, most sincerely, for putting my moon shot at Number 2 on the Popular page and JH Ted also thanks you for all your kind comments yesterday.  He said he and his friends were glad to be sitting under the tree today as it was rather prickly sitting in it!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.