MONDAY'S MIXED BAG!

I was due to meet a friend for coffee this morning at Jack’s, which I duly did and we had a good catch-up, after which I went to our favourite opticians, Leightons, because Mr. HCB had an appointment.

First of all, I sat quietly in the waiting area, (oh yes, I did!) but then began looking around to see if there was anything that would be suitable for a Blip for today, when I spotted a little elf in a box just inside the window.  I asked Kate, the Manager, if she would mind if I took a photograph but also asked if I could do some rearranging;  well, you know me, things weren’t quite as I would have liked them!  However, I did have a slight accident whilst moving the boxes, so Kate very kindly came and helped me.  I'd seen a fluffy penguin in the window on the other side and got permission to move that, so here is part of my mixed bag for Monday.

Interestingly, Kate told me that two families come past the shop window every day and look to see where the elf is and today she heard some whoops because he was stuck in the box.  We both agreed that we weren’t that keen on the “Elf on the Shelf” thing and the concept of someone watching to see if children are behaving or being naughty and we said that it didn’t sit well with either of us, but it does seem to have taken off in a big way in the UK.

I had a text from my sister when we were in the Opticians to say that Mum was quite poorly, so we had some lunch and then went over.  She hasn’t got up now for several days and says she is tired all the time, so once again, all we, as a family can do, is to make sure that she is comfortable and warm.

Under Door 16 of our Advent of Change Calendar, for the Big Change charity, it says, “Today you have helped to nurture our future generation, by engaging parents and communities to play an active role in early childhood development.”  Many years ago, Mr. HCB and I were part of a group that helped young parents, so it’s good to know that this work continues today.

“Early childhood education
     is the key to the 
          betterment of society.”
Maria Montessori

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.