TINY TUESDAY

I don’t know why, but I slept for 10 hours last night, so didn’t wake until after 10 o’clock when Mr. HCB brought me a cup of coffee.  When I eventually got up, Mr. HCB was working in the garden, so I decided that I needed to go out for a walk and perhaps find something for Tiny Tuesday.  It is a beautiful day today with a lovely blue sky and the sun is shining, so it wasn’t that cold - or so I thought, until I turned into the wind and then I was glad I had my warm coat, scarf, hat and gloves on.

I wandered around for a while, and took a few shots, but wasn’t really happy with them, so when I got back home, I went out into the garden.  We still have quite a lot of flowers blooming, but this little one caught my eye - would you believe it is a strawberry flower?  

It was underneath a leaf but I spotted the edge of it and pulled the leaves aside to get a closer look.  I have to say, and I’m sure you will agree, that it’s looking a little bedraggled - a lovely word - but it has had to cope with frost, incessant rain, wind and cold nights, so I guess if I had coped with all that, I might look the same - come to think of it, I probably do anyway!

But…it gives me hope that if this little strawberry flower can cope with all that, then I can cope with whatever life is throwing at me at the moment.  Yes, at times I may look a little frayed around the edges, but after Winter comes Spring with all the promise that that gives to us.  So don’t let’s get too downhearted - we can weather this storm and if we are sensible, then we can come out the other side still smiling - that’s what we aim to do anyway.

Things that brought me joy today:

Seeing the beautiful blue sky

Having a garden where I can wander and seeing all the flowers still blooming

Knowing that even if this is a season of difficulty, if we “hang in there” we will come out the other side, still smiling.

“Hardships often prepare
     ordinary people for
          abs extraordinary destiny…”
C.S. Lewis

P.S.  If you want to see something to make you smile, then watch this - if I’m feeling a bit “down” at Christmas, this makes me laugh so much - this little girl, way back in 1996 was told by her Mum to “sing out so Mummy can hear you at the back” and boy did she do that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.