THIS NEARLY WAS...

...Wide Wednesday, but when I looked at the theme it was “Festive Scene” so as many of the wide angle shots I took were not at all festive, a selfie taken in my field is my Blip for today.  

I decided on the spur of the moment that it would be good to go for a walk in my field, and as Mr. HCB had said he wasn’t going to be doing any work in the garden today, I asked if he would like to come with me, and you can see from this selfie that he did agree to come!  However, he wasn’t that keen on the selfie, but I managed to persuade him in the end by telling him I would double his modelling fee! 

We had a good wander around the field, but had to be very careful where we walked as there are many areas that are very boggy, and although we were wearing our walking boots, we didn’t want to be up to our ankles in mud.  It was good just to be out together swishing through the fallen leaves, enjoying the smells of late autumn and not having to worry about wearing a mask for a change!  

It wasn’t that cold, but you can see that Mr. HCB doesn’t feel the cold like I do - I am wearing my dickie but he just has an open-neck shirt.  I think this is probably typical of most men - whereas women feel the cold and want the central heating on especially when we are sitting down, they don’t seem to find the cold.  This morning was more damp than cold though, so we didn’t stay out for too long.

We need to pop down to Waitrose after lunch to collect a Firestick I have ordered and hope that we will then be able to watch our Church services that are live-streamed on Facebook, on our television.  

I feel surprisingly calm about Christmas - we have both agreed not to buy Christmas presents for one another, although there are a couple from other people underneath our tree, so there will be something to open on Christmas morning.  

I hope your Christmas plans are coming together - we will be on our own on Christmas Day, so have decided to be completely untraditional and have lamb instead of turkey - the first time probably in my whole life that I won’t have had poultry for my Christmas dinner, but the upside of not going out is that we can both have a drink with our lunch and there will be no arguments about who’s driving home!

“To me a lush carpet of pine needles 
     or spongy grass is more welcome 
          than the most luxurious Persian rug.” 
Helen Keller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.